EDUC-6145-1: WK5 – Estimating Costs and Allocating Resources

Dear All,

In this post I would like to share links to a few resources that an ID may find useful when assigned to perform project management tasks.

  • A) http://www.hourlysalaries.com/salaryhourly.php and B) http://www.dollarsperhour.com/ are online calculators that allow the user A) to convert a salary (daily, weekly, monthly, yearly) to an equivalent hourly wage, and B) to calculate weekly gross earnings with overtime. Although such options as deduction of taxes, Social Security, Medicare, health insurance and retirement savings from the paycheck are beyond the scope of these calculators, they are a quick way to receive raw salary figures.

  • http://pm4id.org/ is an online version of Project Management for Instructional Designers (PM4ID), a book about project management as tailored specifically for instructional designers. The book is offered under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license, which, basically, implies that you are free to copy, distribute, transmit, adapt, revise, improve the book if you agree to attribute the work in the manner specified by the author / licensor, not to use the work for commercial purposes, and, if you alter, transform, or build upon the work, to distribute the altered/transformed work under the same or similar license to the one used by the original author. The website offers such options as online reading of a selected chapter, a selected chapter or the whole book download as text, or download in the MP3 format!

I hope at least one of the above resources will save you some time and effort in your PM endeavors.

Marina

7 Comments

  1. Hi Marina,
    Thanks for sharing. I came across both sites since I started this course. Reading ASTD’s article by Karl M. Kapp and Robyn A. Defelice, I found it confirms my belief that eLearning Managers should use the “template” approach when developing online modules. If you look at the difference in the hours between E-learning Developed without a Template & E-learning developed within a template for “Moderate interactivity”, you will see there is a big jump in hours (and money). For example, to develop an E-learning module without a template – it would take 122 hours for low level. Using the same scenario with a template, it would take only 90 hours. ASTD’s example of a template approach is to use Adobe Captivate or Articulates product. Adobe’s eLearning studio costs around $1,200. That is nothing to the difference in the 32 hours in human labor.

  2. Dear Marina,
    You have found excellent resources for project managers! I also think you found ones that others may not have found. You always seem to go above and beyond and you have again. Great job!

    I especially like the idea of having an online calculator to manage the salary, wages, etc. When I visited the site I found that it was very easy to navigate. Calculating through that resource seems to make things similar and what project manager doesn’t need something to make things a little simpler.

    You second resource is just as useful as the first. I really like that it is downloadable, for those that want to read a portion at a time.

    Jenny

  3. Marina,

    I also found the online book and used it in my blog post. After looking through it, I bookmarked it for myself! I love that something so thorough is available for everyone to use. I also found a website that had different sorts of calculators, but I really love the salary calculator you found; I think it’s simple enough that anybody can use and it’s so straightforward that no one would have a difficult time making sense of it. I bookmarked this, too, so thank you! If I ever have PM duties that require me to calculate salaries, this will be my go-to tool.

  4. Hi Marina, these are terrific resources! I am a follower of Karl Kapp’s blog and enjoyed this archived article you shared related to the cost & time to develop training. As a matter of fact, I just found out I will be going to ASTD’s annual international training and development expo in May and will have a chance to hear him and many others present. This PM course is making me realize just how closely tied project management is to instructional design.

  5. Marina,
    Excellent resources! I found the Kapp and Defelice article most interesting. What really stood out is the thee main factors impacting development time. One aspect that I have personally experienced is that clients do not have a firm grasp of their end product should look like leading to scope creep. I have created a few web sites (pro-bono) for friends start ups and found that when we sit down to formulate what their site should look like or what message it should convey, they haven’t the foggiest idea of what they really want. It takes some time to extrapolate what they want the website to do for them. A second point of interest is estimating the cost of a project. In my side business I am often called out provide bid for services and customers want me to provide and immediate estimate for time and cost. In the beginning it was very difficult for me to do that because I had to develop a formula for estimating time and cost. This project has really shed some light on the depth of planning and analysis that is required for ID projects. Thanks for sharing.

    Kevin

  6. Hi Marina,

    I checked the excellent resources you shared with us.
    They are simple to use and informative. I like no only the salary calculator, but also
    all the other types of calculation methods. We know that as instructional designers
    our job choices are quite extensive, therefore, we never know when having any of these type of
    calculation methods could come in handy. Thank you! And by the way your concluding comment gave me a sense of nostalgia already, it sound like we have already started saying our goodbyes: “I hope at least one of the above resources will save you some time and effort in your PM endeavors” Liutova, (2015).

    Ruth

    Liutova, M. (2015, April, 12). Estimating Costs and Allocating Resources [Weg log comment]. Retrieved from:https://liutovamarina.wordpress.com/2015/04/01/educ-6145-1-wk5-estimating-costs-and-allocating-resources/#comments

Leave a Reply

